Showing posts with label Bates College. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Bates College. Show all posts

Friday, June 14, 2019

The Figure-Eight of Lewiston by O.R. Cummings

January 1957 issue of the Bates Alumnus magazine
included this article by the late Seashore Trolley Museum
historian and prolific electric railway lines author, 
O. R. Cummings. Image from the Bates Alumnus.

Thank you to Bates College Muskie Archives for sharing with us, this copy of O. R. Cummings' story on the "Figure-Eight" published in the Bates Alumnus,  January 1957. O. R. Cummings was the Seashore Trolley Museum's historian for decades and published fifty books or more on electric railways in New England. O. R. passed away in 2013 and is greatly missed by this blogger and all who knew him in the historic railway circles.

     O. R. Cummings, better known as "Dick," was a member of the Class of 1944 at Bates until World War II tore him away from his studies. He later graduated from the Bentley School of Accounting and Finance in Boston and joined the staff of the Newburyport, Mass., Daily News. Last April he moved to Manchester, NH, Union-Leader, where he is employed as a rewrite-man.
     Dick is the official historian of the New England Electric Railway Historical Society, Inc., owner of the Seashore Electric Railway trolley museum at Kennebunkport, and the author of several histories of Maine electric railways, including the Portland-Lewiston Interurban; the Atlantic Shore Line Railway; the Rockland, Thomaston, and Camden Street Railway; and the Biddeford and Saco Railroad. His history of the Portland Railroad system is now in the process of publication and he is working on a two-part history of the Lewiston, Augusta, and  Waterville Street Railway.
     Dick is the son of Mary Audley Cummings, '12, who makes her home in Newburyport.

     The time was September 1940, and at the corner of Campus Avenue and College Street, more than a hundred members of the Class of 1944 waited for the start of the annual Stanton Ride.
     Soon, with a shriek of whistles as they passed John Bertram Hall, two large trolley cars came lurching down Campus Avenue and with a hiss of air and the grinding of brakes, stopped in front of the freshman group. Within a few minutes, everyone was aboard and the cars started, rounding the sharp, curve onto College Street and heading for Lake Auburn.

Last Trip 1941 - Motorman-Conductor Mr. Turgeon (?)
for many years. Courtesy Androscoggin Historical Society
     
Last Ride by Trolley
     Now, the Stanton Ride has been a regular event of Freshman Week since it was established by the late Professor "Uncle Johnny" Stanton way back before the turn of the century. But the 1940 trip had special significance, for it marked the last time that the traditional trolleys were used for transportation on the annual outing. When September 1941 rolled around and the Class of 1945 arrived on the Bates campus, the ancient streetcars in Lewiston and Auburn had been replaced by shiny new buses.

Figure-Eight map from O.R Cummings 1963 publication,
"Lewiston, Augusta, & Waterville Street Railway.
PWM Collection

     The passing of the trolleys, in addition to ending one of the traditions of the Stanton Ride, also meant goodbye to the good old "Figure Eight," the line which had served the Bates campus, first with horsecars and later with electrics, for half a century. The new buses ran directly to the College from downtown Lewiston, looping around campus via College and Russell streets and Central and Campus avenues instead of following the old circuit through Lisbon, Pine, and Sabattus streets and down Campus Avenue.

Interior of an electric car probably Figure 8, Last Trip 1941
Image courtesy Androscoggin Historical Society

Lewiston at Hub of Electric Lines
     It should be noted here and now that in the heydey of the trolley, the twin cities of Lewiston and Auburn were the hub of an extensive network of electric railway lines through south-central Maine. The Lewiston, Augusta, and Waterville Street Railway, the largest system in the state, extended from Lewiston to Brunswick and Bath, to Augusta and Waterville, to Mechanic Falls, and to Turner, while the luxurious Portland-Lewiston Interurban provided direct service from Union Square, Lewiston, to Monument Square, Portland.
LA&W St. Rwy
Courtesy Androscoggin
Historical Society

LA&W St. Rwy Motoman
PWM Image

Three Maine Colleges Were Linked
     The Lewiston, Augusta, and Waterville system, incidentally, served three of Maine's four colleges - Bates, Bowdoin, and Colby - and it would have been possible to ride to Lewiston all the way to the University of Maine had a proposed line between Waterville and Bangor ever been built.
     Both Bates and Bowdoin frequently chartered special cars to convey athletic teams and student rooters from one college to the other as the distance was only twenty miles - a ninety-minute ride. Trips to Colby, however, were usually made by steam railroad because of the distance, fifty-five miles, and the three hours (of time) by trolley. Moreover, the Maine Central station in Waterville was practically in the backyard of the old Colby campus.
Trolleys Were Popular for Class Rides
     In the days when each Bates class took an annual trip, many of the journeys were made by trolley to such places as Merrymeeting Park in Brunswick, New Meadows Inn in West Bath, Tacoma Inn at Litchfield, Island Park on Cobbosseecontee in East Winthrop, near Augusta, and Casco Castle Park in South Freeport, on the trolley line between Brunswick and Portland.
     Tacoma Inn, incidentally, was noted for its bountiful dollar dinners and if a student became weary of the fare at the Commons or Rand Hall, he or she had only to ride up to Tacoma for a repast fit for a king. The round-trip trolley fare from Lewiston added another fifty cents to the cost, but the meal was well worth it.
All for a Nickel Fare!
     Getting back to Figure Eight, it provided a convenient way for Bates students to enjoy a cooling ride before "hitting the books" on a hot early fall or late spring evening. The round-trip through Lewiston and Auburn took a half hour and the fare was a nickel. Open bench cars were used on the line in the days before the First World War, and there was always a scramble for the front or rear seat where, out of sight of the rest of the passengers, a student, and his favorite coed could engage in a little discreet handholding.

Lisbon Street, Lewiston at night.
Postcard Collection of PWM

     In connection with Figure Eight, we recall a story told us by a Bates graduate many years ago. It appears that she was being initiated into a "top-secret" girls' sorority on campus and as part of her initiation, she was required to signal a Figure Eight car to stop in front of Milliken House. When the car stopped, she put her foot on the running board, untied and tied her shoe, and then stepped back, thanking the motorman and conductor for their courtesy. Trolley car crews always accepted such antics in good spirits and "anything the college kids did was all right."

Remember Lake Auburn?
     Another favorite trip of college students in the heydey of the trolley was to Lake Grove Park on the shore of Lake Auburn in East Auburn. This park, with its summer theatre and other amusements, was once a favorite recreation spot for residents of the Twin Cities. Bates people weren't supposed to go there unless accompanied by a proper chaperone, but they'd occasionally take a chance on Saturday afternoons and ride out to Lake Grove. Canoes were available for hire and there was nothing more enjoyable than a paddle around the lake, provided, of course, that a feller had his best girl along.

Lake Grove, Auburn
Postcard Collection of PWM

And East Auburn Grange Hall?
     Near Lake Grove Park was the East Auburn Grange Hall and some members of at least one Bates class occasionally hired the place for a Saturday afternoon dance during the days when tripping the light fantastic was forbidden on the college campus. The group made the trip to and from East Auburn by trolley and the girls, in particular, were always certain to be back on campus by six o'clock in time for the evening meal at Rand Hall. Their absence would have taken a lot of explaining.
     Off-campus students found the trolleys convenient and easy to ride distances. The winter months were the worst for such commuters, of course, for occasionally the trolley lines in the outlying areas would be blocked by snowdrifts and the trolleys couldn't run until the tracks were cleared. At such times, if a student were stranded at College, there were always emergency accommodations, but if he or she were stranded at home, there was a valid excuse for missing classes.

Coal for Heating Plant Delivered by Trolley
     One of the most valuable services performed for Bates by the street railway was the hauling of coal from Bath to the College's heating plant behind Hathorn Hall. Rails were laid from Campus Avenue along Bardwell Street and the back of Hedge Lab to the plant. The fuel was brought in large gondola cars which could dump their loads directly into the coal bunkers at the college. Coal delivery by trolley ended after the Bath streetcar line was abandoned in 1937 and the tracks on Bardwell Street were removed.

     We mentioned the Portland-Lewiston Interurban earlier in this story and it might well be pointed out that the builder of the line was W. Scott Libbey, a Lewiston industrialist, who gave the Libbey Forum to the College. His daughter, Mrs. Gertrude Libbey Anthony, was the wife of Professor Alfred Williams Anthony, who taught at Bates for several years. His son, Scott Libbey, is now a member of the Bates Board of Trustees.
Libbey Forum at Bates College
 Postcard Collection of PWM

     It might also be pointed out that William B. Skelton, '92, senior member and current chairman of the Board of Trustees, was the president of the Androscoggin and Kennebec Railway, successor to the Lewiston, Augusta, and Waterville Street Railway, during its last years of operation, and that he was president at one time and is now board chairman of Central Maine Power Company, which owned the Portland-Lewiston Interurban.
     Our own memories of the Lewiston trolleys are rather scant, for they were operating only during our freshman year. We do recall, however, riding the Figure Eight downtown, getting a transfer, and then taking a Weber Avenue car back to the College - all for a single fare. We also remember the night that a railroad torpedo we placed on the trolley tracks near Chase Hill - just before the last Sabattus car of the evening was due to pass. The loud explosion that resulted brought lights twinkling on in nearly every house in the neighborhood and we think a police cruiser came to investigate.
     That last car from Sabattus in the late evening always sounded a whistle as it came down Campus Avenue toward the College, and unless we were (studying) for an exam to be written the following day, the sound of the whistle was our signal to shut up the books and hit the sack. It was only a few hours until breakfast and that 7:40 class in French.

A conductor of the electric car poses with people on his route.
1941.
Image courtesy Androscoggin Historical Society

Conductor carrying "cash box" (fare
register) from the last car, 1941.
Courtesy Androscoggin Historical Society
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
We continue the restoration work on the 1912, Narcissus, the only surviving high-speed, luxury interurban coach of the Portland-Lewiston Interurban. 

Click Here: Narcissus Restoration-Related Posts

Being more than a century old, the stately, "Elegant Ride," Narcissus, is a gem.  This shimmering precious stone of Maine transportation history is brilliantly resplendent as it emanates so many elements of history, including; time, places, people, and events, that it was coupled to, that when just a smattering of its seemingly innumerable stories are shared, the contents captivates, fascinates, then generates, interest to learn more 🙋. The majestic Narcissus is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.

Please consider joining the epic journey to complete the Narcissus Project by making a donation today!

Click Here: Donation Options

The restoration of this majestic icon of Maine's electric railway history is but one in a series of captivating stories containing an abundance of incredible coalition of narratives.

Click Here: History-Related Posts - Narcissus and Portland-Lewiston Interurban

     The Narcissus is featured in the national Gold Award-winning novel, Teddy Roosevelt, Millie, and the Elegant Ride. The "Elegant Ride" is the Narcissus. Theodore Roosevelt was a passenger on the Narcissus on August 18, 1914, between Lewiston and Portland, Maine, while campaigning for the Progressive Party candidates.

Click Here: Bookstores and Businesses promoting the Narcissus Project

Independent book publisher, Phil Morse, holding
the Gold Book Award Winner plaque for
 the Middle Reader category for The Eric
Hoffer Book Award. Congratulations to
award-winning Maine author,
Jean M. Flahive

Monday, April 15, 2019

Harold Shaw Libbey - September 10, 1881-April 19, 1919

Harold Shaw Libbey
Sept. 10, 1881-April 19, 1919
image from the Google image online

     One hundred years ago, on April 19, 1919, the Portland-Lewiston Interurban lost Harold Shaw Libbey, another important person who was integral to the initial construction of the line beginning in 1910 (then known as the Portland, Gray, & Lewiston Railroad), to its opening in 1914 and the corporate transition after the untimely death of its fearless founder and Harold's father, W. S. Libbey.

     Within the published histories and accounts of the Portland-Lewiston Interurban, Harold's name and official role in the line are mentioned, but unlike his famous father, Harold's importance in the PLI and within the Libbey businesses has received much less attention. The depth of Harold's character is made clear in the write-ups after his own untimely death in April 1919. He was so important in maintaining stability in the Libbey Company during what could have been very tumultuous times following his father's death in May of 1914. I felt strongly that I should shed some light on Harold, the well-qualified businessman in his own right, and his lesser-known influence on the PLI. A biographical sketch of Harold is included below.

At his farm in Wayne, ME, with four friends (L-R) Stern,
Cobb, Day, Hunnewell, and W. "Scott" Libbey, with son
Harold, in front. Libbey practiced shooting with his shotgun,
hence the above transcription reference (went shooting clays
for quiet and rest). Son Harold also became a great lover of
life outdoors and shooting. Image from "W. S. Libbey:
The Man and His Mill."

Greeting Papa - The Sabattus Street Home
Three years after his marriage to Annie Shaw, Scott Libbey
began construction of the family home at the corner of
Sabattus and Nichols Streets, Lewiston (ME).
This photograph was taken in 1901... 11 years after the home
was built...shows the Libbey children, Gertrude, Harold,
and Alla, running down Sabattus Street in front of the house to
welcome their Papa. The house still remains at the site, but things
have changed a great deal from this scene of gravel street,
horse and buggy and the gas light on the corner.
Image from "W. S. Libbey: The Man and His Mill."

Here is a photo of the former W. S. Libbey home in August
15, 2018. Harold grew up here in Lewiston. PWM photo

Harold's gang refers to Mrs. Helen C. Libbey's husband,
Harold S. Libbey, son of W. S. Libbey, Mrs. Libbey is
seen here in the upper right with his daughter, Eleanor.
Employee Scrapbook among the
collection of the NEERHS Library.

     Harold, with his young family, would camp out along the proposed electric railway route during its construction years. Harold, who graduated from Lewiston High School, Bates College, and also from MIT, would write letters to his father with updates on the progress of the construction. Harold also worked closely with the surveyors in creating maps with precise measurements of elevations and the grade of the thirty-mile right-of-way that the electric railroad would operate along. 

    In the image above, dated May 1911, there is what we know as Mrs. Harold Libbey holding her daughter, Eleanor, as they both look on at the crew working on the construction of the P, G, & L RR. As an adult, later in the 1960s, Eleanor was a staunch advocate for the Narcissus when it was acquired by Seashore Trolley Museum from Mr. J. Henri Vallee. Here is a paragraph, stating Eleanor's important role, taken from the four-and-half-page story by Museum member, Bill Dox, on the Narcissus being recognized as an official State of Maine Sesquicentennial project in the May/June/July 1970 issue of the Museum's newsletter, The Trolley Museum Dispatch:

"Some of the deficit was wiped out through the sales of PLI histories (blogger note: referring to O. R. Cummings 1967 book, "Maine's Fastest Electric Railroad: Portland-Lewiston Interurban"). The rest was erased largely through the efforts of Mrs. Eleanor Libbey Awalt of Auburn (Me).  The granddaughter of W. Scott Libbey, the builder of the Portland-Lewiston Interurban, she became involved in the Narcissus Project in 1968 and solicited donations from other members of the Libbey family and from various outside sources. Her endeavors contributed greatly to the success of the project and, in fact, did successfully transport the car (Narcissus) to the museum property."

     Harold's family and his extended Libbey family members continue to this day to provide invaluable insight, ephemera, artifacts, and financial support to the Narcissus Project. Below, second in from the left, is Eleanor's son (Harold's grandson), Hugh Awalt, with his wife, Marjorie next to him on his left. And a little bit further to Marjorie's left, wearing the dark red dress, is Paige McLaughlin. Paige is the daughter of Margaret Awalt, the sister of Hugh. Paige is Harold's great, granddaughter, and W. S. Libbey's great, great, granddaughter!

One of the many fabulous moments of the 2017 Teddy
Roosevelt Days opening gala for the weekend event. When,
on Friday, July 21, fourteen descendants of W. S. Libbey and
their spouses gathered in front of the number one end of one
of the Libbey patriarch's prized possessions, 1912
Portland-Lewiston Interurban No. 14, Narcissus, for a family
photo. Nine great-grandchildren, two great, great-grandchildren,
and three great, great, great-grandchildren of
W. S. & Annie Libbey. PWM

     On November 15, 2017, I had the honor and pleasure to meet with Mr. Paul Libbey. Mr. Libbey, a nonagenarian, is the grandson of W. S. Libbey, Sr., and nephew to Harold Libbey. Paul Libbey was very generous and made a donation to the Museum of the original map of the elevation and grade of the right-of-way of the Portland, Gray & Lewiston Railroad (which became Portland-Lewiston Interurban in 1914), that his uncle Harold had helped create. The map is 28.5 feet long and is one continuous roll of paper. The map is extraordinary and was sorely in need of conservation. An appraisal of its condition and an estimate totaling $11,000 to professionally conserve, repair, and photograph the map was provided by the Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC) in Andover (MA) in May 2018. Through the generosity of many donors during the following months, we had the necessary funds to cover the costs to have all the work on the map completed. Currently (April 2019), work has begun in Andover to conserve, repair, and photograph the map. We are so very grateful to Mr. Paul Libbey and to all the donors who made this possible.

A photo showing a portion of the original hand-drawn map
of the elevation and grade of the Portland, Gray and
Lewiston Railroad before being delivered to NEDCC for
conservation work. PWM photo

Mrs. Harold S. Libbey is Helen, wife of Harold S. Libbey,
son of W. S. Libbey.  Image from the Portland-Lewiston
Interurban Employees Scrapbook which is among the
collection of the NEERHS Library.

Mrs. Harold S. Libbey is Helen, wife of Harold S. Libbey,
son of W. S. Libbey.  Image from the Portland-Lewiston
Interurban Employees Scrapbook which is among the
collection of the NEERHS Library.

Mrs. Harold S. Libbey is Helen, wife of Harold S. Libbey,
son of W. S. Libbey. Image from the Portland-Lewiston
Interurban Employees Scrapbook which is among the
collection of the NEERHS Library.

Mrs. Harold S. Libbey is Helen, wife of Harold S. Libbey,
son of W. S. Libbey.  Image from the Portland-Lewiston
Interurban Employees Scrapbook which is among the
collection of the NEERHS Library.

No. 18 Azalea at Deering Junction with Walter E Pinkham,
one of the first PLI motormen. And Clarence J Cobb who
became PLI's first Freight Agent in 1915. On June 26, 1914,
Harold, his Libbey family members, friends, and state
railroad commissioners rode in the Azalea as they made an
inspection trip along the Right-of-way of the Portland,
Gray, & Lewiston Railroad, before the line being opened
to the public. From the O.R. Cummings Collection

     All the photos above that were provided by Helen C. Libbey, Harold's wife, were from the photos she shared with former Portland-Lewiston Interurban employees during the four annual reunions that took place in Gray from 1938-1941. There is a scrapbook containing precious reminders of those reunions and the times the former PLI employees shared during the operating years and their lives after the closing of the line on June 29, 1933.

The cover page of the large scrapbook created by Charles D. Heseltine,
using photos, newspaper clippings, and original ephemera from the
Portland-Lewiston Interurban (PLI); including poetry, personal
cards, notes, and notations from employees and their families.
My understanding is that Heseltine passed the scrapbook on to
O. R. Cummings, who, in turn, passed it on to the New England
Electric Railway Historical Society's (NEERHS) Library.
Seashore Trolley Museum is owned and operated
by the NEERHS in Kennebunkport, ME


The Employees of the Portland-Lewiston Interurban Scrapbook. Starting in 1938, for four consecutive years before the U.S. entered WW ll, the former PLI employees and their families attended an annual reunion in Gray (ME). All were encouraged to submit PLI-related items to share with the gathered attendees. A scrapbook was made to hold these submitted items. This scrapbook is about 28 inches by 23 inches with 112 pages. More than 200 photographs, numerous newspaper clippings, hand-written notes, poems, PLI-related ephemera, etc., are attached to pages in the scrapbook. The contents are incredible. Flipping through the pages, looking at the photos, reading the poems, news clippings, personal notes, and cards, one can’t help but become sentimental, nostalgic, and grateful. Grateful to Charles Heseltine and those PLI employees and their family members who provided these personal keepsakes for inclusion in this amazing scrapbook. Charles Heseltine then entrusted the scrapbook to O. R. Cummings, who in turn entrusted the scrapbook to the Library at Seashore Trolley Museum. All items in the scrapbook have condition issues and need conservation. An appraisal of its contents' condition and an estimate totaling $26,000 to professionally conserve, repair, and photograph the contents was provided by the Northeast Document Conservation Center in Andover (MA). Due to the extremely fragile condition of the P, G, & L RR elevation map, our fundraising efforts first focused on having the conservation work done on the map. With that goal reached and the map now being conserved, we have turned our fundraising focus now is on raising the monies needed to repair, conserve, and photograph all the contents within this incredible scrapbook. Scroll down the page to find the options for contributing and please consider making a donation to help have this important work done.

The scrapbook has several pages dedicated to reunions of 
former PLI employees and their families. There are four
reunions specifically cataloged; June 29, 1938, June 29, 1939,
June 30, 1940, and June 28, 1941. All four of the reunions
were held in Gray, ME. 1938, and 1941 reunions were held
at the Newbegin Hall (seen above). The 1939 and 1940
reunions were held at the Pennell Institute Gymnasium.
It is noted in newspaper articles of the times, that combined,
the total of former PLI employees and their family members
that attended each of the reunions in 1939 and 1940, well
exceeded 100 in attendance. The image above is from the
final annual reunion in 1941. Image from the Portland-Lewiston
Interurban Employees Scrapbook which is among the
collection of the NEERHS Library.

Newbegin Hall is seen from the back of the Pennell Institute
building in Gray. Photo September 2018 by PWM

Harold Shaw Libbey
From Biographical section of History of Maine - pgs 177 & 178

     The records of the lives of W. Scott Libbey and Harold S. Libbey, his son, form a splendid chapter in the annals of the business fraternity of Lewiston. Harold S. Libbey succeeded to heavy and pressing responsibilities, which he bore capably and well until called from his labors at the early age of thirty-eight years, his passing is mourned in the many channels that his influence penetrated.

     Governor William T. Cobb, the intimate friend of both the elder and younger Libbey, spoke of Harold S. Libbey as follows; "Of fine physique and clean life, it seemed to look at him and to know his love and capacity for the work of the business, that fortune had much more in store for him than to be claimed by death at thirty-eight years...He was sure to become a prominent factor in the business life of his city and of the State, and personally, in character and wise ambitious, was the type of young man from whom his own generation had every right and reason to expect fine accomplishments and helpful influence."

     Harold Shaw Libbey, son of W. Scott and Annie E. (Shaw) Libbey, was born in Lewiston, on September 10, 1881, where his death occurred suddenly on April 19, 1919, resulting from influenza-pneumonia. He graduated from Lewiston High School in the class of 1901 and received the degree of A.B. from Bates College in 1905, then pursued post-graduate work at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, specializing in chemistry and the textile industry. Upon the completion of his education, he entered the Cumberland Woolen Mills at Lewiston, where he received his practical training in textile manufacture, rising to the position of superintendent. He fulfilled the duties of his position until the death of W. Scott Libbey in 1914 when he became treasurer and agent of the S. S. Libbey Company, and the Cumberland Mills. He directed these affairs with profitable results until his sudden death, serving at the same time as a director of the Androscoggin Electric Company and the Manufacturers' National Bank of Lewiston, being especially interested in the latter institution and rarely failing to attend the meetings of the board of directors.

     The close comradeship that existed between Mr. Libbey and his father continued through the business into their hours of recreation. During the construction of the Portland-Lewiston Interurban Railroad, which W. Scott Libbey built and controlled, he was in charge of portions of the work on the road. They were closely associated with the operation of the mills while their camping trips together were the greatest pleasure for both.

     Mr. Libbey was a member of the United Baptist Church of Lewiston. He belonged to the Gardiner Gun Club, hunting and gunning being his favorite recreation, and he also belonged to the Boston Athletic Association. He devoted his time and means to the support of movements of progress and improvements in his city and was a citizen who gladly acknowledged the duties as well as privileges of citizenship. As a businessman, he held the regard of the business fraternity, and from the earliest days of his relationship with employees of the concerns he was connected, he was an employer wise and just, who valued and strove for the goodwill of his men and who held it by fair and straightforward dealings. In the brief time that was allotted to him, he won recognition as a man of able parts and lived in the approval of all men.

     Harold S. Libbey married 1907, Helen V., daughter of Frank A. Channel, of Lewiston. Mrs. Libbey was a schoolmate of her husband both in high school and college. They were the parents of two children: Eleanor V. and Channel T.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
We continue the restoration work on the 1912, Narcissus, the only surviving high-speed, luxury interurban coach of the Portland-Lewiston Interurban. 

Click Here: Narcissus Restoration-Related Posts

Being more than a century old, the stately, "Elegant Ride," Narcissus, is a gem.  This shimmering precious stone of Maine transportation history is brilliantly resplendent as it emanates so many elements of history, including; time, places, people, and events, that it was coupled to, that when just a smattering of its seemingly innumerable stories are shared, the contents captivates, fascinates, then generates, interest to learn more 🙋. The majestic Narcissus is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.

Please consider joining the epic journey to complete the Narcissus Project by making a donation today!

Click Here: Donation Options

The restoration of this majestic icon of Maine's electric railway history is but one in a series of captivating stories containing an abundance of incredible coalition of narratives.

Click Here: History-Related Posts - Narcissus and Portland-Lewiston Interurban

     The Narcissus is featured in the national Gold Award-winning novel, Teddy Roosevelt, Millie, and the Elegant Ride. The "Elegant Ride" is the Narcissus. Theodore Roosevelt was a passenger on the Narcissus on August 18, 1914, between Lewiston and Portland, Maine, while campaigning for the Progressive Party candidates.

Click Here: Bookstores and Businesses promoting the Narcissus Project

Independent book publisher, Phil Morse, holding
the Gold Book Award Winner plaque for
 the Middle Reader category for The Eric
Hoffer Book Award. Congratulations to
award-winning Maine author,
Jean M. Flahive